more from
Sonic Transmissions Records
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more


Sehr Ruhig 06:11
Slått 04:36
El Sistema 06:56


Released on Sonic Transmissions Records, Sept 23rd.

All songs by Rolf-Erik Nystrøm and Ingebrigt Håker Flaten. Self recorded sometimes in early 2000 at Blå, Oslo. Mixed and mastered by Lasse Marhaug, June 2021. Album cover by Lasse Marhaug.


released September 23, 2021

Ingebrigt Håker Flaten and Rolf-Erik Nystrøm can be described as institutions of contemporary jazz and improv. Both have been around for decades, giving us musical innovation and extreme sports-like art experiences. Their new release El Sistema was recorded almost 20 years ago, and yet it is topical and relevant even today. This fact states the incredible creative minds of Håker Flaten and Nystrøm. As a duo they conceive texture and layers of coexistence, bringing solidarity through music to the table. El Sistema sends hints of a somewhat political kick upwards, and illustrates vibrantly the cliché of the kind of power that music can contain.


all rights reserved



Ingebrigt Håker Flaten Austin, Texas

Ingebrigt has established himself as one of the strongest voices on bass in jazz and improvised music on the international circuit today. His work with his own projects, as well as with The Thing, Atomic, Free Fall, Scorch, and in duo formats with Joe McPhee, Evan Parker and Håkon Kornstad have put him at the center of a large pool of improvisers with strikingly different modes of operation. ... more


contact / help

Contact Ingebrigt Håker Flaten

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account